HOLY F**K!: How I Stumbled Upon The Most Thrilling New Act of 2012!

(Please note: If you’re currently directing your cursor to the little “X” in the top, right-hand corner of this window, I assure you that it’s not what it looks like!)

Dear Reader, I would like to share with you all how a moment of curiosity can lead to the most wonderful discoveries. Today, as I sat at my laptop for the fiftieth time to check out Twitter, I caught a tweet by electo-hip-pop duo: Karmin. It declared their eligibility for the cover-race in this September’s “Women Who Rock” edition of Rolling Stone.

Truthfully, I’m on the fence about Karmin! For those of you not in the know, Karmin are former YouTube stars who had a viral hit with a Chris Brown cover posted on the social networking site which led to them being signed to a major label in 2011. Their hit single “Brokenhearted” has been in pretty heavy rotation on pop radio. I enjoy the single, but I’m not in love with their recent EP: “Hello” and when I was first introduced to them when they performed as musical guests on SNL, I wasn’t immediately won over. (Apols, Karmin!)

My personal uncertainty about Karmin aside, the tweet made me interested in the idea of them getting a Rolling Stone cover so I clicked on the link for more details. now I have them to thank for indirectly introducing me to a new obsession!

Upon arriving at the Rolling Stone Women Who Rock  voting page, I noted many names of artists I didn’t realize had made a big impact (Dev, Rita Ora, Rye Rye) and some I’d never heard of at all (Sleeper Agent). One such band I had never had the pleasure of hearing is 6-piece group from North Carolina, named: Delta Rae. I clicked on their name to get more information and up popped the following two-minutes and fourty-two seconds of ELECTRIFYING GENIUS. (Sorry, I’m a little pumped!)

“Bottom of the River” surges with backwoods, southern energy. In the video for this, their first official single from album: “Carry The Fire” (released in June), the story plays out as a bit of a witch-hunt. The group’s Brittany Hölljes takes the lead vocals on this track as fellow group members seize her from her home in the middle of the night, bind her hands and lead her down a dirt road towards an uncertain (but well-choreographed) fate with an angry mob of hooded figures, some with black eyes and/or creepy masks. Watching and listening to this video feels like a religious experience and I’m admittedly an agnostic! Hölljes slays the lead vocals with the ferocity of a woman posessed and by the video’s end it appears that she might be, as she makes easy work of the angry mob and walks off into the darkness with a smirk.

Delta Rae consists of siblings Ian (vocals and guitar), Eric (vocals, guitar, piano and keys) and Brittany Hölljes (vocals), as well as  Elizabeth Hopkins (vocals), Mike McKee (percussion) and Grant Emerson (bass guitar). Their band name has personal significance for the siblings as it relates to a fictional story their mother was going to write about a girl named Delta Rae who summons the Greek gods to earth. I’m not sure whether or not they can hear Delta Rae up on Mount Olympus, but I can certainly confirm that The Pop Gods hear them loud and clear, and are singing their praises up in Pop Heaven!

The sextet’s debut album: “Carry The Fire” is available now! iTunes / Amazon

Find out more about Delta Rae at their official website and follow them on Twitter! (@DeltaRae).

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “HOLY F**K!: How I Stumbled Upon The Most Thrilling New Act of 2012!

  1. I effing love Delta Rae! If you love the video, you NEED to see them live. They’re incredible. Bottom of the River is especially awesome live. Brittany slays it, and it’s so much fun watching Mike beat the shit out of a trashcan (the video isn’t the full song. You can get the full song for FREE, along with a live album, from their website).

    • Thanks so much for the information, Ashley! I’ll head there now to download it! I watched some other material on YouTube and was just as impressed! I think after I purchase the album I will likely have to write a review! I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to read and leave comments! 🙂

  2. Sharon Hanson says:

    I’ve been following Delta Rae for a few years now. I’m happy to tell you that this is just the icing on the cake. If you liked the vid, you HAVE to see them live! The energy is unbelievable and the talent is unending! And, they are genuinely nice people. (I know, right?) They are touring now, and if they are headed your way, it’s worth it to go see them. Whether you like rock, pop, country, soul…. there is something for you in this band.

    • Thanks Sharon! I live in eastern Canada, so a lot of stuff doesn’t come out my way but I’ll keep my eyes open! I’m loving evrything that I’ve heard so far. Thank you so much for reading and commenting. 🙂

  3. Great piece! As the previous comments have stated, they are absolutely mind-blowing in concert. The live version of Bottom of the River makes my heart race, especially once Liz takes over on the upright drum and Grant starts dropping the bassline! I’m glad you were able to find their music, it’s been an unending source of fun for me and my friends 😀

  4. I’m really glad you weren’t talking about Karmin.

Preach!

