Judgement Day: Pop Heaven or Hell? Manilla Luzon – Hot Couture (Music Video)

NOTE: This article was written way back on 1/26/2012 when this music video premiered on YouTube. Like many of my blog posts, I was writing it in the wee hours of the night and only realized today that I had never actually published it. Fortunately, it’s NEVER too late to enjoy a catchy song and fabulous video by a glamorous drag queen. – Dean

I would like to start this post by saying that I have seen very very little of RuPaul’s Drag Race and I know that makes me a terribly, terrible gay.

I have no real excuses, to be honest. I did catch somewhere in the vicinty of a half-marathon of season one many years ago on Canada’s MuchMoreMusic. I mostly recall the extreme filter they put over the footage that made everything fall under a hazy glow while the Queens would lip-sync “for their life”. It was glorious, however I moved out into a place on my own and made one of the (potentially smartest but ultimately) silliest decisions a twenty-nine year old bachelor can make: I gave up cable service.

I know, I know! With high speed internet at my fingertips I really don’t have an excuse for not joining in the fun, after all that was two-and-a-half years ago and I’ve managed to keep up on many a television show despite being cable-free. I suspect one rainy day I will give in to the urge to download every season and marathon them without sleeping, but in the meantime I get to experience the occasional little delight in the form of a song or music video from one of it’s alumni. (Shoutout to Jeremy @ “Taking Over The Universe” who is all too often the guy who introduces the work of these Queens to me through his blog! Check him out and follow him on twitter @Gaosalad!)

This time around, however, I had heard a bit of a preview of this track a while back as I work with producer Jared Jones who was developing a soon-to-be-released remix for the single and so, when I saw someone tweeting that a music video for the track was released, I immediately made my way to YouTube to check it out.

Below The Pop Gods present: “Hot Couture” by Manila Luzon:

Did you think it was adorable and amazing like we did? This video has a very simple-but-deliberate stylishness about it and contains that slight, personal touch (with the little boy and his mom side story that seeems to be at least intentionally suggesting autobiography). Manila looks completely gorgeous in a large number of fabulous and bold outfits and both the song and video give me reminiscent vibes of the brilliance of the world’s favorite Drag Mama: RuPaul with “Supermodel” back in 1993 but slightly more down-to-earth and approachable.

“Hot Couture” is a gift from Pop Heaven!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Preach!

