The Glee-kly Recap – “Pot O’ Gold”

Harry Shum, Jr. As "Mike Chang"

So, though this is my first Glee-related post, I will admit that I am a rather devout Gleek. While I know there are lots of folks out there who do a weekly Glee-cap, I’ve decided that as I intend this blog to be all encompassing when it comes to Popular Culture (i.e. music, movies, books, art, television, video games, etc.) that I will probably do some reaction posts about my favorite shows!

This week’s all-new Glee came on the heels of an early season three-week hiatus that had most of us Gleeks feeling rather down in the dumps. After the complete amazing-ness that was the last episode, “Asian F”, we were all left foaming at the mouth’s for more Mike F**king Chang (P.S. Did anyone else suddenly feel a little bit in LOVE with Harry Shum, Jr. after “Cool”?)

But anyway, that was then and this is now and clearly, if you watched “Pot O’ Gold” you know that the glory that was episode three has not quite lent itself to episode four. It’s a little bit surprising, really. This episode had a lot of things going for it…

  • Directed by Adam Shankman – Director of the fabulous movie musical adaptation “Hairspray” and previous, much-hyped Season 2 episode: “The Rocky Horror Glee Show” which received a slight mention from Santana tonight (“Well I did get to be the lips in Rocky Horror!”)
  • The premiere of ‘The Glee Project” winner: Damian McGinty as Rory, a foreigh (Irish) exchange student staying with Brittany, who believes he’s a leprechaun.
  • A list of songs that sounds, in theory, like a lot of fun. These include: Katy Perry’s summer hit “Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.)”, Christina Aguilera’s “Candyman”, Foreigner’s “Waiting For A Girl Like You” and most oddly, Kermit The Frog’s “Being Green”.

Unfortunately, where the last two episodes shined, “Pot O’ Gold” felt rather flat. Read on if you don’t mind SPOILERS. Be warned…

So, there are a few things going on throughout this episode that I take issue with:

Too Much Blaine (Continued from the rest of the season, and a little of Season 2).

Don’t get me wrong. Darren Criss, in all of his overacty bliss, is totally adorable and all of that, please resist the Stan-filled urge to spam me with hate mail. My beef here is with the writers who claimed Season 3 was about the core group. Mercedes said she didn’t want to be part of “The Rachel Show: but this season has really felt like “The Blaine Show” & I miss the old male lead, Finn. His singing had come a long way and I enjoy him. Am I wrong or has he hardly had a solo line in a song this season?

We’ve been denied the joy of SEEING Brittana’s semi-undefined relationship until it’s sure to start getting shaken up!

In, what I feel, was a very poorly disguised twist, Brittany and Santana have been exploring their relationship all summer. There were hints of this right from episode 3×01, but I truly hoped it would not be revealed as such so that we would get to see how it came together. The terms are somewhat loosely defined, but in a tender moment we see them talk about it at Breadsticks and Santana asks Brittany to hold her hand.While I’m glad to see this pairing, I wasn’t happy that Bartie (Brittany & Artie) ended so abruptly and now I suspect that since we have Brittana (Brittany & Santana), Rory is going to continue to challenge their relationship and it too, will be short-lived.

There was almost no Mike Chang.

I think we all agree that you can’t have him shine so much just last episode just to drop him 97% into the background so quickly. Please give us more Mike Chang!!!

The Ridiculous Saga of Shelby/Puck/Quinn/Beth

Ultimately, this ridiculous storyline is stinking up our favorite show.The high road would have been to have Quinn give up Beth for adoption and to move on with her life; At least until later on in it. In my opinion, It’s not terribly believable that only one year later, despite the scars of her popularity angst, Quinn would suddenly want to be a teen mom. Furthermore, the idea that she is scheming to take back the baby from the adopted mother makes zero sense and while Quinn has done some mean things, I feel it’s out of character to go that far.

In the episodes worst moment, which was subsequently was intended to be it’s “shocking climax”, recently single bad boy, Noah Puckerman (Puck) stops gazing with nervous lust upon the adopted mother of his infant daughter. who is consequently a teacher at his high school, and they kiss.

Do we really need to see another ‘high school teacher has an affair with a schoolboy’ story? Is this REALLY why we had to lose Lauren Zices?

Despite all of my beefs, above, “Pot O’ Gold” did have some good points!

  • Damian McGinty did a great job as Rory, The character is quirky and charming and will make a fun additon to the New Directions.
  • “Candyman” was wonderful and I’m enjoying Shelby’s group: “The TroubleTones” at the moment.
  • Two words: BURT HUMMEL!! My favorite TV Dad and one of my favorite guest stars on Glee. Burt for Congress all the way! Can’t wait to see the battle between him and Sue. (P.S. This storyline, only now with Burt running and with Sue’s new fire as she fights for the handicapped in the name of her sister, JUST got interesting.)

Of all of the episodes this season, “Pot O’ Gold” doesn’t live up to it’s name. My least favorite of Season 3 to date. Next week, FINCHEL and BLAINE are giving away their V-CARDS? Shocking! See you then!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “The Glee-kly Recap – “Pot O’ Gold”

  1. Heather says:

    I thought this episode was rather ‘blah,’ but I love Burt so much! I think he is a great role model for men of all ages. He’s strong, protective without being overbearing, and can he express emotion, something that isn’t easy for a lot of men to do.
    Also, there is a not-so-subtle subtext in Glee, and that is that the arts matter, and can actually save lives. We need to hear this message today more than ever.

    • Agreed Heather! The episode really wasn’t great, but the highlight for me was definitely the scenes with Burt! He’s been nothing but exemplary from day one on Glee in all of the ways you mention. He reminds me a lot of my own Father and how he handled my own coming out. The arts DO save lives and I couldn’t agree more about how important it is that we continue to cultivate them in our high schools and generally in our lives! Thanks so much for commenting πŸ™‚

  2. I loved this episode (mostly because of Damian who plays Rory) and i LOVE glee! πŸ™‚
    I also have a glee blog cuz im that big of a gleek! Check it out!
    gleerififcnewsstop.wordpress.com

    • Damian did a pretty great job, but for some reason the episode fell flat for me. I AM a huge Gleek, however.. and I love to discuss it with other Gleeks. Thanks so much for commenting! I have bookmarked your blog and look forward to following πŸ™‚

Preach!

